Radio 1 Xtra Work Experience

I haven’t made a blog entry in a while as I have had a very busy few weeks! I’ve recently started my second year at uni, moved into my new house, started a new job and most importantly been doing work experience at Radio 1 Xtra for the past three weeks!

On my first day of the work experience I went to the BBC Studios in Southampton and met Charlie Sloth and his team. We were asked to come up with talking points and ideas for the show and we even got to speak on the show to promote our local area of Bournemouth for the 1xtra live event!

In the second week we split into two seperate groups and created features again to promote our town but this time we went out into the town and collected vox pops for the local public! My team’s feature was chosen by Charlie Sloth as the winning feature!

We also got put into seperate groups to decide which team we would be working with on the main event and I was put onto the marketing team which was my first choice!

On the actual night of the event we all arrived early afternoon and were put with our teams. I was given the job of going around the audience, the queues and the bars convincing people to take a ‘selfie’ and put it on Twitter or Instagram with the hashtag 1xtralive for the chance to get their pictures to come up on the big screen on the stage!

We then got the chance to sit in on press releases with Katy B and Chase & Status and got a picture with Katy B and she was really nice! :)

I also bumped into Mistajam a few times who I met a few days before at a night club. He said he remembered me but I’m not sure if he was just being polite haha.

After that we got to watch some of the show, I got the chance to see Chase & Status, Katy B and Sub Focus which was amazing. We then got a chance to go on the television and I was asked a few questions by Charlie Sloth which went on the telly an hour later! So I never got the chance to watch it :(

Overall it was just an amazing experience and I felt so lucky to have been a part of such an amazing production!

20131015-152412.jpg20131015-152433.jpg20131015-152447.jpg

 

 

Leave a Reply

